Governance team

AIC has strong governance structures at national and regional levels. In scaling up to these centres, AIC scope of work under its current strategic plan 2015/2016 – 2020/2021 has effectively been expanded with a staff portifolio of 309 (112 Male Staff, 161 Female Staff and 46 Volunteers). AIC is headed by a highly technical and competent team, with the Executive Director who is the team leader, Two (2) other Technical Directors (Director Finance and Director Programs), eight (8) technically competent managers at headquarters and in the AIC regional centers. AIC is governed by a competent Board of Trustees (BOT) composed of 11 members (6 males and 5 females) with representatives from the regions, Uganda AIDS Commission (UAC), MoH, the academia and the PLHIV. It is constituted into 5 committees: Finance, Policy, Research, Programs/Donor Coordination and Resource mobilization committees. The board provides guidance and is the highest decision-making body of AIC, gives direction to the organization and also works through the committees to give technical support. At the region level, each region has a Regional Advisory Committee (RAC) with similar roles as the BOT but at a lower level. RACs ensure regional implementation of BOT decisions.

· Meet Our Governance Team ·

Dr. Okello Daniel Ayen – BoT Chairperson

Ms. Phyllis Joy Mukaire (PH.D.) – BoT Vice Chairperson

Sheila Birungi Gandi (Mrs.) – BoT Secretary & ED

Dr. Francis Bajunirwe – BoT Member

Ms. Kusasira Darlson – BoT Member

Mr. Ekodeu Richard –  BoT Treasurer

Mr. Samuel Okaleb – BoT Member

Ms. Jacquelyn Kia – BoT Member


Dr. Paul Onzubo – BoT Member

Dr. Joshua Musinguzi – BoT Member

Dr. Z. Karyabakabo – BoT Member